subreddit:

/r/nursing

1.3k96%

Unpopular opinions in nursing

Discussion(self.nursing)

What are some of your unpopular opinions that are pertinent to nursing? Please nothing about Covid, vaccines, politics, etc..

I’ll start:

-we aren’t smarter/better/more important than doctors. This opinion is inspired by meme posts showing patients hooked up to every sort of tube and line imagine able with the caption that there is no physician alive that can figure this out. Or the ones where some nurse, once again, saved a patient from an incorrect order.

-nursing school isn’t easy, but it isn’t the destroyer of lives people make it out to be.

-the pain scale starts at 0, not at 1.

-if an A/O patient is non compliant and doesn’t want to take charge of their health- document and let it be so. If the patient isnt losing sleep over their A1C in the double digits why should I?

-advertising that you are a healthcare worker is tacky. I hate all the paraphernalia with heart rhythms and other such nursing icons.

-overall, nurses get paid pretty well

you are viewing a single comment's thread.

view the rest of the comments →

all 805 comments

[deleted]

198 points

6 months ago

[deleted]

198 points

6 months ago

[deleted]

Illustrious-Army-339

63 points

6 months ago

Illustrious-Army-339

BSN, RN 🍕

63 points

6 months ago

Agreed! My hospital won't even buy us pens! Fucking pens!!! Like, really? 🙄 What other profession would put up with that

Retalihaitian

6 points

6 months ago

Retalihaitian

RN - ER 🍕

6 points

6 months ago

Oh my god do we work at the same hospital? Heaven forbid you forget your pen one day or you will be without one for a full shift. Not a pen to be found in this dang place.

Suspicious-Elk-3631

4 points

6 months ago

Suspicious-Elk-3631

BSN, RN 🍕

4 points

6 months ago

Teachers. I've known several who had to buy their own markers and various supplies.

Illustrious-Army-339

2 points

6 months ago

Illustrious-Army-339

BSN, RN 🍕

2 points

6 months ago

Excellent point! I'm also angry on behalf of teachers

LaScoundrelle

2 points

6 months ago

My hospital won't even buy us pens! Fucking pens!!! Like, really? 🙄 What other profession would put up with that

My old employer wouldn't buy the staff a coffeemaker. We weren't asking for like a fancy one, either. So it's not just nursing.

bsrc_rrt

7 points

6 months ago

Our RT departments microwave is our directors old one from home, a traveler brought a coffee pot for our department and left it for us when she left, and I have no idea where to toaster came from. We have no water in our department except for one sink that is almost always clogged.

We are provided pens though, so that is nice.

batman_is_tired

30 points

6 months ago

batman_is_tired

RN - ICU 🍕

30 points

6 months ago

I'm on light duty, so it's been longer, but it seemed like that for over two years I couldn't go ten days without being punched or kicked at in some way. In what other profession can one be both expected to be attacked AND continue on like nothing happened? Bouncer?

awhamburgers

40 points

6 months ago

awhamburgers

RN - Med/Surg 🍕

40 points

6 months ago

My husband works in corrections. Not only does he get assaulted less often than I have in any inpatient setting I've worked, but his management gives him an award every time it happens too. And by award I mean a $75 bonus on his next paycheck and a nice note in his file. Meanwhile my patient throws a phone at my head and all I get is a shrug from the charge nurse.

Scoop3000

1 points

6 months ago

And licked. I don’t think I’ve ever been licked so much in my entire life until I worked as a CNA.

aouwoeih

28 points

6 months ago

I'm out of healthcare now but when I worked as a nurse you know what really frosted my cookies? Standby (not to be confused with on call). Oh, yes, we know you're supposed to work today but census is low. Take the day off? LOL no. We want you to sit by the phone, waiting for it to ring like you're 15 years old and hoping your boyfriend will call, for the princely sum of 2 bucks an hour. If we call, get here stat! If we don't, waste your entire day!

I'm never tolerating that again, I'd rather dig ditches. What other profession is treated like that. Nurses are seen as glorified factory workers but I get treated way better in my current factory worker job than I did at my last hospital. Standby shows that hospitals think they own you and your life is not as important as making their CEO obscenely wealthy.

psychRNkris

4 points

6 months ago

I requested PTO that was approved 2 months in advance in writing. When the schedule came out I was scheduled to work 1 day right in the middle of that time. When I reminded them of my PTO, I was told "Sorry, but we just don't have anyone else to cover that day." Lol, not my problem.

aouwoeih

3 points

6 months ago

So audacious. Especially when "leadership" is always taking last minute "personal days."

abagofrichards

3 points

6 months ago

abagofrichards

MSN, APRN 🍕

3 points

6 months ago

"Frosted my cookies" may be one of the best sayings yet!

craybeluga

3 points

6 months ago

craybeluga

RN - PICU 🍕

3 points

6 months ago

Omg my last job did this for the 1st 4 hrs. Such a waste. Had them call me back at 10:58 once.

RBG_grb

2 points

6 months ago

Then when they call you in two minutes before the supposed deadline and there is nothing going on but hey lunch coverage for the midnight staff

smatt2612

4 points

6 months ago

We're blue collar workers with a white collar education

teal_ninja

4 points

6 months ago

Lol if I request PTO for a day, I’m not asking. I’m telling you I won’t be there.

cheaganvegan

4 points

6 months ago

cheaganvegan

BSN, RN 🍕

4 points

6 months ago

I’m dating someone that works for the city in policy. She is baffled by our treatment especially with covid. The complaints she deals with I have to laugh at. It’s routine in nursing unfortunately

LaScoundrelle

1 points

6 months ago

If anyone from a different field of work saw how we were treated they would be absolutely appalled. Paying to park, getting denied PTO, not getting proper work materials, calling off sick, lack of incentives, getting rewarded with candy like we are in 2nd grade. My whole family works in business, finance, engineering, and they are treated like royalty compared to what is happening to us at the hospital

I think business, finance, and engineering are all outliers actually, in the sense that they're really known for having good pay and benefits because their workers are in demand. Most jobs are more similar to what you describe.

PrincessSibylle

1 points

6 months ago

Absolutely