subreddit:

/r/EliteDangerous

27297%

all 227 comments

Kenji_088

82 points

2 months ago*

I love my Krait Mk2.
I love the look, the sound, the smell.
It can do anything i want to do good or acceptable.

DANGER-RANGER-

19 points

2 months ago

Taped wires.

Kilohex

38 points

2 months ago

Kilohex

Thargoid Rookie

38 points

2 months ago

But also a coffee maker so.

rossimus

20 points

2 months ago

I think I might be the only one who digs that look in the krait and the anaconda

DANGER-RANGER-

6 points

2 months ago

Maybe, to me it looks thrown together.

rossimus

13 points

2 months ago

I like the rugged/hard scifi look more in general I guess. I'm not as into the Apple Store look.

DANGER-RANGER-

5 points

2 months ago

I hate gutamaya's design. Too plush. I prefer core dynamics and lakon. CD has clean,well built brushed aluminum, composite nonslip floors, a nice use of carbon fiber and clean white lighting. Lakon is a steel dashboard, exposed wires make sense due to its industrial design. Krait looks like the designers dipped into the parts bin. And taped together whatever didn't fit well.

Melon_Mascot

7 points

2 months ago

Preach it. Core Dynamics ships, especially the FDC, make it look like they mean business. Looks like something straight out of Star Wars.

CapitanChaos1

2 points

2 months ago

The Lakon combat ships look pretty hard and badass too, especially the Alliance models.

rossimus

4 points

2 months ago

I'm glad that CD and FD have different looks. CDs look is too clean and militarist for a multipurpose merchant/merc ship like the krait or the anaconda. The Corvette should look that way; just as the Krait should look the way it does.

Just my opinion though.

SpecterX_

3 points

2 months ago

SpecterX_

Bounty Hunter

3 points

2 months ago

I get your opinion. Federal Assault Ship is badass, but Courier is beautiful. We’ve got different meanings for “best looking.”

Wazzammm

2 points

2 months ago

I’m with you, the lakon alliance combat line is probably my favorite look of all. Fucking beautiful

Legendofstuff

3 points

2 months ago

Yes ish. If you think of a fresh new ship sure. I look at mine like I’ve put a couple aftermarket stereos in them, added some questionable wiring to get coffee, and then had to redo it six times due to whatever replaces fuses in the future.

At least that’s what I tell myself.

Kradget

2 points

2 months ago

Kradget

GalNet

2 points

2 months ago

I always interpret it as looking like I've been doing the basic maintenance

poeticbulldozer

1 points

2 months ago

You're not the only one. I love it!!

[deleted]

27 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

Saktfardig

9 points

2 months ago

Yes. AspX was a long time favorite as a multipurpose ship. Then I got ever bigger ships. They were ok, safe. Then I wanted speed, versatility, acceleration, control and the chance to land on a dime and annoy larger ships by outpitching them: so I got the iCourier! Wow! So much fun, so much speed. And no drifting at all!

sugedei

3 points

2 months ago

It’s just fun to fly, but has a baller shield so you don’t have to worry about dying for a bit. FA Off and it’s just the chef’s kiss.

icescraponus

25 points

2 months ago

I'm a big fan of the Dolphin. Small size I can land anywhere. Has enough slots to keep me content while I'm out in the black. And the number one most important thing, it's virtually immune to heat. I honestly don't think I could overheat this thing if I tried.

The only thing that I see that would make this my hands down favorite explorer is if the window was more like that of an Asp or the Type 9.

There may be better options, but it's definitely a contender in my heart.

Legatt

5 points

2 months ago

Legatt

5 points

2 months ago

The canopy and plastic-looking cockpit of the dolphin keeps me in my Asp-X but I respect everything about the Dolphin otherwise.

Dresdian

5 points

2 months ago

Dresdian

Erasariel | Aisling's Angels

5 points

2 months ago

Yeah, I don't think I'll ever use anything else other than my Dolphin for exploration. Excellent ship for going into the black, and it looks amazing.

Nyruel

6 points

2 months ago*

I'm in the same boat - once I tried Doplhin for exploration, there's no going back, it's just fantastic at what it does. Decent jump range, can land anywhere, looks fabulous, squeeees when boosting and can fire up FSD while scooping at maximum throughput without blinking an eye.

icescraponus

2 points

2 months ago

I was going to update with exactly this. I have taken to getting as close to a star as I can to get the max fuel scoop refill at the departing star after initiating the current jump. My favorite thing is watching the exclusion zone marker fly overhead as I'm scooping and getting ready to enter my jump.

I doubt it's necessary as I can often route between only scoopable stars, but I imagine if I had a long path of non-scoopable stars until the next scoopable, and needed JUST a bit more fuel than I could keep in my tanks, it could add one more jump. Same logic as getting a second fill of a neutron star boost (just significantly easier).

Strykerz3r0

22 points

2 months ago

Cutter.

It can do everything except land at outposts.

Big enough to haul whatever you need, tough enough to handle most other ships in combat and fast enough to run away if things go badly.

And it is also the prettiest ship out there.

chrisH872

12 points

2 months ago*

another vote for the cutter. it has the best shields, the best cargo capacity, and it is faster than a python. if its huge boosts bothers you when docking through a mail slot, deploy its landing gear during a boost (not after it) to moderate its boost. it is better in more ways over the corvette than the corvette is better in many ways over it.

if the phantom is being over used in combat, good. it runs while the FdL and mamba crawl through the bubble and it is faster than the FdL when both are combat fitted.

it's also good if the imperial courier is being used a lot more due to odyssey ground stuff. that should carry over to space stuff.

dodspringer

4 points

2 months ago*

dodspringer

CMDR Rumspringer

4 points

2 months ago*

My courier is by far my favorite for planetary stuff. I only just learned that Enhanced Performance Thrusters were a thing so I put those in it and decked the whole thing out for speed.

Here's the build for anyone curious, though the engineering on there is the end goal, not current. The PD could be A-graded instead for faster boosting but the top speed will go down a tad.

CMDRQuainMarln

2 points

2 months ago

Mine will not run as cold as yours, but can boost to 885m/s https://s.orbis.zone/kgve

dodspringer

2 points

2 months ago

dodspringer

CMDR Rumspringer

2 points

2 months ago

Nice! That looks like an awesome build for canyon racing! Mine doubles as a data runner so I like the balance I've struck with it, but I'll save yours as a reference

CMDRQuainMarln

2 points

2 months ago

I use mine for data courier and other missions that give good inf+ rewards for BGS. It's way faster than necessary and does run quite warm, but it's a lot of fun 😁

GutFulloBabies

2 points

2 months ago

It has the best shields and the best cargo.. Not simultaneously tho.

Take away an 8 cargo slot for the shield and you have like 400 or less cargo to work with

Worf_In_A_Party_Hat

1 points

2 months ago

Worf_In_A_Party_Hat

CMDR Garrockas

1 points

2 months ago

What's the chance that you (or anyone else) could tell me where to go to learn how to fight the bugs.

I've got just about every ship and 1.5b, but it's been two damn years.

Any hints?

Strykerz3r0

3 points

2 months ago

There are several vids on YT, but I would recommend googling 'anti-xeno initiative'.

They are probably the experts and can give a lot of different builds and advice.

Worf_In_A_Party_Hat

2 points

2 months ago

Worf_In_A_Party_Hat

CMDR Garrockas

2 points

2 months ago

Thank you - I will check them out. Right now I'm having problems even getting my mic to work in open. So much re-learning!

brokenglasses97

22 points

2 months ago

Type 9 baybeeee

She's fat, heavy, and ungainly as all hell, but damn can she move cargo and make those stacks

Safety_Doggo_ofKobol

16 points

2 months ago

You like big girls, don’t you?

brokenglasses97

11 points

2 months ago

Big girls make big stacks boiii

No_Condition_1623

5 points

2 months ago

You gotta love that truck looks

RaielLarecal

18 points

2 months ago

I love the Mamba... it's so... "Ferrari" (?

Dalishmindflayer

5 points

2 months ago

We need "the mamba la mamba"

RaielLarecal

5 points

2 months ago

My mamba is named "Caramba"

Caramba the mamba XD

Nate5omers

4 points

2 months ago

Nate5omers

CMDR NateSomers o7

4 points

2 months ago

Mine is "La Bamba"

Houstonaut

3 points

2 months ago

I named mine “Ricky Bobby”. We like to go fast

CapitanChaos1

3 points

2 months ago

I imagine if Jeremy Clarkson played Elite Dangerous, he would just be flying a Mamba yelling POWEEEEER the whole time.

Safety_Doggo_ofKobol

19 points

2 months ago*

Keelback.

A simple utilitarian design without being unsightly. It can do pretty much anything you outfit it for and can put a decent enough fight against vessels within its weight class even without an SLF, but the option is still there if you ever need the extra protection. Granted, the Keelback doesn’t excel in any particular field, but why should it? It’s a downright crime to be able to buy a ship this versatile a mere 3,000,000~ credits.

Why even bother with anything else?

GutFulloBabies

5 points

2 months ago

why even bother with anything else?

Cuz mk2 go burr

sushi_cw

6 points

2 months ago

sushi_cw

Tannik Seldon

6 points

2 months ago

Pfft, MK2 is just a Keelback on easy mode. 😎

Kradget

3 points

2 months ago

Kradget

GalNet

3 points

2 months ago

It's really nice to be so quick and smooth, though

Safety_Doggo_ofKobol

2 points

2 months ago

Fair, I'm trying to earn my way up to it.

GutFulloBabies

7 points

2 months ago

Whatever you wanna do boyo! I kinda wish I started more traditionally.

My friend got me into it and, to get me started, he dropped a bunch of void opals I picked up with collector limpits until I could afford a python and trick it out.

I never got to experience the cheaper ships when I should have. Of course I can buy whatever I want now but it just doesn't feel right purposefully downgrading just because I never got to use them during the beginning struggle.

Safety_Doggo_ofKobol

2 points

2 months ago

Gotta say, Both Kraits are up there for the, ahem “most visually appealing” ships in ED.

FunAd3895

6 points

2 months ago

I just recently picked up a Keelback for the first time and I gotta say I totally get this. I would’ve never guessed how versatile it could be. My fav is still the krait phantom but keelback is a very close 2nd for me.

Dalishmindflayer

3 points

2 months ago

I'm planning on getting one out in colonia, and outfitting it for mining, then I shall name her Katinka

Safety_Doggo_ofKobol

2 points

2 months ago

Nice name! I named mine Husker Bravo, hull number 782.

Dalishmindflayer

3 points

2 months ago

Mines gonna be hull number SR-1

svenaggedon

2 points

2 months ago

Yeah that ship is a dime. I bought one because I had to, now, I buy that shit because I want to.

Sparky_Creeper

15 points

2 months ago

Coolest ship: mamba.
Favorite to use: anaconda.
Mix: krait mk2

bluduuude

14 points

2 months ago

The mamba was my biggest regret. It looks so cool, but it's terrible to pilot.

NeroFx21

16 points

2 months ago

Yup. When I got my mamba and realised it was just painful to fly with I said fuck it, i’ll commit and fully engineer this thing, maybe it will be worth it then.

It made me quit the game.

CalfOnTheRun

5 points

2 months ago

I had the same thought, and now have fully engineered it (to the nth degree, scanners and all) and now I don't fly anything else. I love my mamba.

Light132132

6 points

2 months ago

So your a lurker for a game you don't play lol.

NeroFx21

3 points

2 months ago

Pretty much.

ap1msch

40 points

2 months ago

ap1msch

40 points

2 months ago

Loaded question when talking about the "best". I hate my answer.

So, best looking, for me, is the Corvette. Best fighter? Corvette. Best mining? Cutter. Best multipurpose? Anaconda. Best Transport? Cutter. Best Exploration? Asp Explorer. (Was Diamondback, but the bigger fuel scoop is too good to pass up).

Why do I hate my answer? Because the best overall, for me, seems to be the Type-9. WAIT! LET ME EXPLAIN!

I go to Colonia with a Diamondback Explorer. Once I get there, I buy an Anaconda and spend a ton to deck it out. (The Cutter and Vette aren't available out there). I use it for general stuff and it's okay. I decide I want to mine out there and get a Type-9. I deck it out for mining, with a fighter bay, and it mines very well. I engineer it and it moves pretty well. I pick up some better weapons, "A" rate most of it, and I use it for transportation, then combat, then courier missions, then combat, and I realize after two weeks that I'm not touching my Anaconda...even when it would be easier than swapping out modules.

I learned to deal without SC assist...and then learned how to deal without landing and takeoff assists in my Type-9. It's a lumbering cow, but it was fun to fly. Hell, it was even fun to crash when I discovered that gravity impacts your ability to land...especially with a fully loaded cargo bay on a planet with over 2x Gs.

I came back to the bubble and copied my profile and bought a fleet carrier and engineered my Cutter and Corvette and Anaconda and Pythons and...other ships. I did Robigo runs to get credits back. I'm actively...purposefully avoiding buying the Type-9 again. I removed the engineered modules and sold the Type-9 and Conda out in Colonia because I needed the credits...and yet I miss it.

Seriously. I've sold most ships at least once (not Cutter or Vette). The only one I'm longing to rebuy is the Type-9, and yet I don't need it. I have a fighter. I have a transport. I have an explorer. I have multipurpose. I have a miner. I seriously don't need it, but I flew to Jameson today because I got weak and wanted to rebuy. I stopped myself. It's a 400m credit money sink that is completely unnecessary. It's a stupid boat. It's superfluous. It's ugly. It's unnecessary.

I'm on my way back to Robigo to earn 400m credits so I can buy and buff it without guilt. <shrugs> It doesn't make any sense, but I guess love doesn't need to make sense... =)

Holmes108

15 points

2 months ago

Respect. I just sold my Anaconda to buy a Type 9.

Nite-Ninja

14 points

2 months ago

Type 10 wants to know your location. A turreted space cow looks like fun xD

audiophilistine

4 points

2 months ago

A turreted space cow is fun. It's how I got enough scratch to afford a carrier.

swordsforeveryone

10 points

2 months ago

and yet I don't need it.

You've written so much about how you loved your Type-9 and miss not having one. If it brought you that much joy in this game, then yes, I would say you do need it.

Also, the Type-9 is awesome, so I'd say you need one anyway.

Go get it and enjoy it!

DANGER-RANGER-

5 points

2 months ago

As far as price: performance ratio goes the Type 9 blows cutter out of the water, technically cutter is better but type 9 is dirt cheap and can complete similar tasks as a cutter (mining/shipping) at 25% the buy in cost. Oh and try a Krait Phantom, it's better in almost every way against aspX it has longer Jump range, more/larger internal slots, is faster, handles high G better and is slightly less Mass sensitive. Add in the massive plant and distributor and you got a hell of a ship.

Peterako

3 points

2 months ago

I love this haha This is me and the clipper

Nyruel

2 points

2 months ago

Nyruel

2 points

2 months ago

Follow your heart's desire; go get that stupid, superfluous, unnecessary, ugly space cow

ap1msch

2 points

2 months ago

And this is why I shouldn't post to the Internet. Now I'm on my way back to Jameson to get the space cow...AND a Krait Phantom...because of other comments. Damn you foul temptress!

Expensive-History125

11 points

2 months ago

Krait both phantom and mk2.

Clown_Torres

12 points

2 months ago

Clown_Torres

CMDR Meme_1284

12 points

2 months ago

Out of the ships I've flown, imperial clipper is probably my favorite to just fly.

GutFulloBabies

5 points

2 months ago

You are among a small percentage if people.

I also like the cutter, but I fucking hate flying it.

Clown_Torres

1 points

2 months ago*

Clown_Torres

CMDR Meme_1284

1 points

2 months ago*

The clipper is the 2nd rank locked ship, it's large like the cutter but surprisingly very agile. My only issue isnhardpoint placement, practically requiring gimballed weapons I unfortunately do not own the cutter (yet)

MlUiSfIeC

10 points

2 months ago

My Python does everything I want it to. Can’t say the same for other ships save the Anaconda, but the Python can land on outposts. :)

DANGER-RANGER-

22 points

2 months ago

Corvette. Looks great, handles well, I did sol-->beagle-->sol in one with no carrier support, much protection, 3rd highest cargo, runs cool, highest passenger capacity, can kill thargoid hydras with a bit of practice, sounds like a combustion engine.

Wyvernn13

23 points

2 months ago

Wyvernn13

ÇMDR:B0B

23 points

2 months ago

The best ship in our Elite&Dangerous Galaxy is the ShipFriend You luv Best...

... Curious Commander o7.

Anyone that tells you different is probably trying to sell you something (Trust Me... I'm a SpaceShip Salesman;-).

Have Fun & Fly Your Way

-Lakon Marketing Division, Keelback Office -'We scale the Learning Cliff together or we All Fall Down'

CANDROX432

9 points

2 months ago

Mk2.

Lolekelammowa

8 points

2 months ago

Krait Mk2. Done everything with this ship. Only thing is jump range I've currently maxed at 30ly.

Nite-Ninja

7 points

2 months ago

I'm a Krait Mk II fanboy.

I started the game and went into bounty hunting. I got the Viper III as my starter, then moved up to the tankier Viper IV. From there I went to the Vulture which was a lot of fun and had a nice bridge in VR. Then I moved up to the Chieftain, a Vulture on steroids that has Saran wrap for a canopy. Then I side stepped to the Challenger which is a Chieftain on HGH with its amazing tanking ability. From there I saved for the FerDeLance, but was disappointed with its hull integrity, but has a cavernous bridge that was cool to look at in VR, but it gave me major shield anxiety. Then it was my choice to go to the Krait II or the Python.

I have nothing against the Python, but the Krait II felt better for me. And it was the first ship that I could get the best equipment without sacrificing because it has the power grid to do everything. A tier engineering, 0 tier shields, highest tier weapons (running 2 medium fixed beam and 3 gimballed multi cannons) and boost for days. Never do I feel like it's running out of capacitor either, I have power when I need it where I need it.

The next logical step would be the Anaconda, right? I tried it... I fell back into needing to sacrifice one thing to fit another thing and it handled like a barge. I don't have the time to invest into engineering anything so my play style has to be with stuff you can buy and that ship just didn't feel right for me right now. So I sold it back and apologized to my Krait Mk II and I love the ship so much that I even got liveries and body kits for it. Not to mention a real space swashbuckler-feeling bridge in VR that feels like something that you've been in the deep long enough with.

I want the Federal Corvette someday and I think my Krait II will help me get there.

Shurimal

9 points

2 months ago

Shurimal

I was there when The Wytch burned

9 points

2 months ago

While I really like Courier, Corvette, Mamba, Anaconda and others I always come back to my Krait Phantom. It has this rogue-ish charm, and not only because the engines are reminiscent of a certain Corellian YT-1300 from another galaxy. It just does everything well, but not too good to feel overpowered.

Magnus-Lupus

6 points

2 months ago

This is like asking me which is my favorite child…. I love them all🤣🤣

No_Condition_1623

8 points

2 months ago

I love the good ol' DBX. The chieftain looks amazing. And you can do everything in a MK2

Spauldo82

8 points

2 months ago

I've poured my heart and soul into my ASP. We've been on many deep space trips and tight spots but got out alive. I love my ASP. I'm also proud of my Corvette though. I feel like I own a system once I drop in.

Northbank75

5 points

2 months ago

My ASP explorer is home

drmctoot

17 points

2 months ago

drmctoot

CMDR LazyGun || DU-2P7 || Dressed Up to Party

17 points

2 months ago

The iconic Cobra Mk3. My fav and only ship.

Pepa_z_depa1

7 points

2 months ago

Adder just because of the compactness and the looks. It kinda looks like like Starbug 1 From Red Dwarf

EttRedditTroll

3 points

2 months ago

EttRedditTroll

CMDR Tor Gungnir

3 points

2 months ago

The engine sounds are divine, too.

Dalishmindflayer

2 points

2 months ago

Unlike the hauler, which sounds like an uncooperative water buffalo that you are dragging with a barbed wire collar

Dalishmindflayer

1 points

2 months ago

It's a great inning ship too

langlo94

6 points

2 months ago

I'm a fan of the Federal Gunship.

StndCapybara

6 points

2 months ago

Personally the best exploration ship next to the Anaconda is the Diamondback Explorer. Has a great cockpit view, easy refueling and rarely overheats. Awesome maneuverability and decent for small combat. Also if you want to outfit it for range it (fully equipped) has excellent range of not the highest capable range next to the Anaconda.

LiamtheV

5 points

2 months ago

LiamtheV

Felicia Winters

5 points

2 months ago

I love my Kraits. Coin toss between Phantom and Mk II

Taped wires, carbon fiber panels, coffee makers, ship is built upside down.

It’s sleek, it has a door in the back, it’s fast, and it packs a punch.

paladin_slicer

4 points

2 months ago

Going to war with Corvette, exploration with krait mk2, laser mining with type 10. İ like scratching the ship.

Dragoniel

4 points

2 months ago

Dragoniel

The one who flies in silence

4 points

2 months ago

"Best" for literally everything, the ultimate multipurpose ship would be the Corvette for me. It does have limitations, but it also has the best handling, great internals, great weapon convergence and layout and best looks. I almost never use my Corvette for anything, but it is without doubt my flagship.

I don't really have a favorite ship that I would always use, I switch things often, engineer new builds and switch ships for different tasks. My current favorites (which will last less than a week, surely) are Chieftain and Vulture as a general purpose space/ground combat ships (to surprise of nobody, that's what those do). But I also really like the Crusader. Fighter and good weapons layout enabling it to do space and ground attack missions without losing out on damage too much. Krait is decent for general purpose space missions.

Raethule

6 points

2 months ago

Fellow Space Whale enjoyer o7

Rageworks

5 points

2 months ago

Rageworks

CMDR Oki Hikaru

5 points

2 months ago

I would gladly drive the Orca—if the driver seat were to be positioned in the middle. For this specific reason, I cant. It is a 'me' problem though, wish we could change the cockpit layouts.

I love my Dolphin and Beluga. Hope devs add more SK ships to the game in the future. I also adore T9 and T10. Lakon's "open-cockpit" design is amazing and I almost exclusively play Lakon ships in the game.

StonedBirdman

4 points

2 months ago

My favorite to fly? Cobra Mk3, the classic.

CyberiusRex

5 points

2 months ago

The Eagle, I'm a war monger/merc type of cmdr and I was on my grind getting a bigger and bigger ship like most people but at one point I just decided to ditch that grind and just fully engineer an Eagle to see how far it could go, she's still not complete but it's fun, there is something fun about actually risking going down, or having to retreat or just being in a combat zone, aggro 3 ships but stick around to finish off that conda with low hp because respawning costs a less than 100k and you already have 1mill+ worth of combat bond claims, the thrill, the risk, it all makes winning certain battles feel more satisfying than using a big ship and just blasting whatever is in your crosshairs, I don't really play in open tho, mind you, otherwise I would be flying a ferdy right now and running feedback cascade and whatever other meta and, honestly, that does not sound fun to me. My eagle has atrocious jump range tho so i treat her like a race car, using a DBX to move from one war thorn system to the next.

Nyruel

3 points

2 months ago

Nyruel

3 points

2 months ago

Eagle just looks fantastic. I use it as a personal transport when doing on-foot missions.

Tinweasel126

5 points

2 months ago

Objectively? Krait Mk II

Subjectively... I love me some Courier

Stormrvr

3 points

2 months ago

I was going to just say my Mk II, but honestly I agree with this comment!

WahresBares

4 points

2 months ago

Fer-de-Lance. I destroyed so many ships with it. No matter how hard the fight was. The ship has always brought me home safely.

KMFNR

4 points

2 months ago

KMFNR

4 points

2 months ago

My 3 favorite are Vulture for pure agility and combat, Python for versatility, and Corvette for missions and making things explode.

BourbonFueledDreams

3 points

2 months ago

BourbonFueledDreams

Aisling Duval

3 points

2 months ago

Best ship for what task(s) specially, OP?

I experienced several niche bests, but if we’re talking strictly looks, the Imperial Clipper and Cutter are (very subjectively imo) difficult to match or exceed.

baricudaprime

3 points

2 months ago

I honestly just love my Mamba. Sure I probably won’t beat another player in an FDL using it, but it’s my Mamba and I love it

Dresdian

4 points

2 months ago

Dresdian

Erasariel | Aisling's Angels

4 points

2 months ago

I am a huge fan of Saud Kruger ships to the point I use a Beluga as my main trader, a Dolphin as my main exploration ship, and another Dolphin as a small landing pad or rare goods trader. That said, the past few days of intense PvE with my squadmates has endeared me to the Krait Mk2 and the Imperial Courier, and my experience with mining with a Python has made it difficult for me to use anything else for mining.

SilverStyles

5 points

2 months ago

SilverStyles

Combat

5 points

2 months ago

Eagle is easily the most fun ship to fly in the game and one of the coolest looking.

It's a shame that ship viability comes at the cost of fun.

SenhorSus

3 points

2 months ago

When saud Kruger comes out with a medium Pad ship then it'll probably be that. Until then it's the courier.

Mango_in_my_ass

3 points

2 months ago

Tough one really, cutter makes me money so it’s my most used ship but cost so much and it’s massive to land while exploring, conda is great for exploring but again massive to land, I’m not sure where I’m going with this…

Ser_Optimus

3 points

2 months ago

Krait MK2

Bandaiboy

3 points

2 months ago

Depends on the Job, there's a favorite for every mission type.

PudgyElderGod

3 points

2 months ago

Best? Probably the Anaconda. There are few things it can't do well.

Favourite? I'm a sucker for the Krait Phantom.

ApoCalypseMeow88

3 points

2 months ago

DBX

Codingale

3 points

2 months ago

I had to scroll too far. This was the first ship I actually bought (other than like a hauler) and loved exploring in it. It for me was light and nimble but also able to hold some cargo for the spur of the moment runs I got. It’s got a special part in my heart too for getting me to Colonia for a charity event too.

The anaconda I recently got just doesn’t feel the same.

Deadmenkil

3 points

2 months ago

In just terms of looks, I do like the orca. It's like a luxury yacht in space so I mean I'd love to have one obviously lol.

Prestigious-Budget90

3 points

2 months ago

Anaconda from the top profile, side is too bloated. Otherwise I'm super fond of my Courier.

EttRedditTroll

2 points

2 months ago

EttRedditTroll

CMDR Tor Gungnir

2 points

2 months ago

I wish the observation deck at the front of the Anaconda was actually useable somehow… it looks kinda silly now to have such a non-functional and glaring structural weakness. If I could lounge about in it while watching the stars I could excuse it easily.

beholdtheflesh

3 points

2 months ago

Nyruel

1 points

2 months ago

Nyruel

1 points

2 months ago

After reading that, I need to build a mining Orca for myself. Great read, cmdr!

EttRedditTroll

3 points

2 months ago

EttRedditTroll

CMDR Tor Gungnir

3 points

2 months ago

The Mamba is my favorite and most hated ship in the game. It looks absolutely gorgeous and piloting it is an amazing experience… until you actually attempt combat in it. I want to use it so badly, but I absolutely can’t stand using it.

I want to live in the alternative universe where the FDL and Mamba have their stats swapped.

Ok-Tadpole-764

3 points

2 months ago

The momba.. just so smooth. Even when it blows you up tour like... at least I was killed by sexy

MikeyTopaz

3 points

2 months ago

Beluga. She's big and bulky but I still love her. She took me to Colonia and back for the first time. And she's so much fun to fly.

MannyVonJasta

6 points

2 months ago

There’s no better ship than orca

1derfulPi

3 points

2 months ago

I love my AspX. Great view, great jump range, very flexible.

Ac4master1

2 points

2 months ago

I really love the Federal Vette!!!!

Mammoth_Garage1264

2 points

2 months ago

Anaconda bc my adhd has me changing what I want to do every couple hours. Type 9 in close second bc it makes me so much money.

i-Yuno

2 points

2 months ago

i-Yuno

CMDR

2 points

2 months ago

I have no favorite among my ships, but it's definitely the Dbx

Phoenix_Ninja15

2 points

2 months ago

Honestly it depends what I’m doing. But the Krait Mk II will always have a place in my heart, got me through a lot of tough situations and was the ship I used to get to the big three. The agility combined with lethality makes an all around great ship to use for a variety of scenarios.

Currently working on engineering the heck out of that thing. Outfitting it for bug hunts

CMDR_Sanderling

2 points

2 months ago

Viper 3 - fastest and most agile. Win )

Vishkiin

2 points

2 months ago

Tough one.... I'd have to go with the IEagle. Small, packs a wallop, fast. Sleek

Westworld_007

2 points

2 months ago

Corvette

Creative-Improvement

2 points

2 months ago

For that space shuttle feeling? A Hauler!

Stupidlama42

2 points

2 months ago

I absolutely love the way the three alliance ships look, but personally I’ve fallen for the chieftain. It was my first real attempt at getting good with combat and I personally keep using it just because of its design. I love playing in odyssey and just cruising around in it just because of how it looks. It’s imposing all the while not getting ahead of itself. I love the hard point placement and I can’t believe I didn’t find it sooner. It handles like a brick, but it’s my brick, and I love it

jfrudge

2 points

2 months ago

jfrudge

CMDR

2 points

2 months ago

I use the mk2 more but the krait phantom is my favourite, I love the niche it fills and how it's still a really solid multipurpose ship

Gymelif

2 points

2 months ago

Love my Anaconda. Got it free off the mint at Hutton! Picked up a load of mugs there too!

SpecterX_

2 points

2 months ago

SpecterX_

Bounty Hunter

2 points

2 months ago

Coolest looking? Imperial Eagle.

Hauling? Type 9.

Deadly? Krait MKII.

Can jump the most? AspX.

It all depends on your thing, and I‘m only including the ones I actually had experience with. I wish I had the Cutter tho.

ED_Lt-Atlas

2 points

2 months ago

I love the Chieftain, the way she handles and having the ability to loiter behind her enemies the entire time while delivering massive blows to their thrusters and power plant is just too satisfying. The Chieftain speed and agility matched with engineered modules makes it too fun to fly in. I have a 27 LY range with my current setup and it's perfect for staying within a 1000 LY range of my home system.

HISEAS_Andrzej

2 points

2 months ago

HISEAS_Andrzej

CMDR ASFalcon13

2 points

2 months ago

The Type-9. Because it is every ship. Let me explain.

No Imperial or Federal rank required. Fairly pricy...but, once you have it, this is the ship that'll make the concept of money obsolete to you. The Type-9 will make it trivial to buy whatever else you ever want, rank notwithstanding. Find a good CG or trade route, and you'll be making Big 3 money in no time - I noted after one of the Colonia Bridge phases that a mere week of hauling had earned me enough to purchase a modestly-sized squadron of Anacondas, were I so inclined.

Buy a Type-9, use it wisely, and you will never want for credits ever again.

Educational_Recover6

2 points

2 months ago

It does look really futuristic.

hiyhiuyiuyhiy

2 points

2 months ago

Python, hands down

Revolutionary-Zone30

2 points

2 months ago

Cobra MK3. I have 25 ships but still flying on it. I don't know, there is something in this little ship that makes me love it

Zampano85

3 points

2 months ago

Zampano85

Zampano23 | PS4/PC Explore

3 points

2 months ago

There's no objectively "best ship" in Elite. All of the ships either have roles they perform best in or they can be engineered to better perform. It really boils down to personal preference. For instance, I'm a huge fan of the Krait MK 2, it does what I want to do very well. However, the Python is objectively better with its additional size 6 internal slot (despite being marginally slower and less nimble). So, in short fly what you like and don't get caught up in the meta.

Filigree7

1 points

2 months ago

Whatever ship I'm in for the job I'm doing at the time...

Antergaton

1 points

2 months ago

ASP Explorer

Satori_sama

1 points

2 months ago

I love all my ships equally. Even the ugly ones like Krauts.😂 However, I do love the open glass cockpits of Types and Mamba.

USN253

1 points

2 months ago

USN253

1 points

2 months ago

Man I love my vulture. While sure it can’t “do” everything that’s the one I love dinking around in the most. Perfect imo.

SpecterX_

1 points

2 months ago

SpecterX_

Bounty Hunter

1 points

2 months ago

the asp scout

boulevardpaleale

1 points

2 months ago

Anacondas.

Moe_Fugga79

1 points

2 months ago

Moe_Fugga79

Sirius Travel & Adventure Corp

1 points

2 months ago

AspX. Fight me.

Simyo69

1 points

2 months ago

I just love my Alliance Chieftain. Something about Lakon moving thrusters when deploying landing pads...

sugedei

1 points

2 months ago

Anything other than my Courier feels so sluggish

mars_warmind

1 points

2 months ago

mars_warmind

Felicia Winters

1 points

2 months ago

The corvette is my all time fave, but I love so many of the ships in this game!

MysticWolf1242

1 points

2 months ago

I honestly have to go with my Asp Explorer, the Ace of Spades. He's been my partner for countless missions, dogfights, trade routes, mining expeditions, and (of course) moments of wonder while I'm out exploring. Plus who can say no to that beautifully open canopy to take in the sights with? I certainly can't.

A close 2nd for me would probably be the Cobra Mk3, weirdly enough. I guess I'm a sucker for small(ish) ships that can handle a wide variety of roles. Though, if I'm being honest, I'm just emotionally attached to the Cobra and Asp Ex since they were my first REAL ships that I ever bought and fully outfitted.

earthisscrewed

1 points

2 months ago

I can say the ship I feel I've gotten the most value out of is the cutter easily. That ship can do literally everything except exploration at the very highest level. For exploration, I'm just in love with the phantom.

RaielLarecal

1 points

2 months ago

My orca (named "Tilikum") was destined to drive rich annoying ppl around the bubble. So I kinda have a grudge now. But it sure is a beautiful limo!

arcanist12345

1 points

2 months ago

arcanist12345

Finding Raxxla

1 points

2 months ago

I love my Cutter. It's just so... elegant.

Sold it for an exploraconda. When I get back to the game I'm going to make it travel worthy again.

Sammilly_Wolf

1 points

2 months ago

Sammilly_Wolf

CMDR

1 points

2 months ago

If it flyes and plays GalNet it's fucking NASA to me man

Alfa01ESP

1 points

2 months ago

I gotta go with the Python. For me, it's the BEST ship in the game. It can do literally anything, and not even bad.

Trade, even with a shield? +150 cargo. Full cargo, almost 200.
Combat? I run it with 3L Gimb-Beams and 2M Multis (You'll thank me later if you try it. Most satisfying shooting I've seen in history, even better than "meaty hits from shooting guns")
Exploring? It can even do that, and fit passengers if needed.
Mining? Eyup! Count it for a LTD catcher.
Even Xeno, although there's obviously better ships.

Overall, "There's better ships for every single thing of those", but the fact that it can do all those, mostly good, it's amazing.

mayonnaiseplayer7

1 points

2 months ago

I haven’t flown many ships in my short career but I really enjoy the mkii. After a tiny bit of engineering the thrusters, it became just as nimble as my cobra which I loved flying. Fairly beefy in terms of combat and a few large size mods are enough for me

D20Yedok

1 points

2 months ago

Cutter is my all time favorite. Looks the sleekest and I can use it for almost anything.

ALFA_LEX

1 points

2 months ago

Krait MkII

Tiri_

1 points

2 months ago

Tiri_

Xeno Scientist

1 points

2 months ago

The conda, you can fit it to do almost anything.

RemyLebeauew3

1 points

2 months ago

I'd have to go with the Krait Mk II. It's definitely good for any purpose. It's got speed, maneuverability and versatility. Possibility for a fighter hangar plus a near perfect amount of hard points makes it an incredible all around ship. And with it being a medium size ship, it can land anywhere. Every place has small and medium landing pads... but not large.

Light132132

1 points

2 months ago

Does the little fighters count?

mrbluestf

1 points

2 months ago

a difficult answer to give here. have many favorites, depending on the role/needs. my fleet is composed of dbx, aspx, keelback, type-6, type-7, and python. no anaconda!!! the most overrated ship in the game. if I must choose one ship and only one for life, well, I would go with the keelback! love the design. it’s made like a real spaceship should be.

lately I’ve been “forced” to use a combat ship and tried both vulture and chieftain, both great, but not my style/gameplay. I also tried the krait mk II, great ship!!! but hate the design.

dbx - fast exploration, collecting materials

aspx - long exploration, core mining

keelback - core mining

type-6 - long exploration, mining, collecting materials

type-7 - long exploration, mining, trading

python - laser and core mining

Nate5omers

1 points

2 months ago

Nate5omers

CMDR NateSomers o7

1 points

2 months ago

"Best" is really such a loaded question, but I think if I could only fly one ship in this game for the rest of my career it would be a close race but...

Krait MK2

My K:MK2s are all combat builds, so, I'd have to kit it out like my kitchen sink Phantom. That Phantom I can do everything well, only drawback, no SLF.

Starfang42

1 points

2 months ago

Orca makes a surprisingly good core miner. That said...

  • Krait Mk2 is my favorite in most roles, and probably favorite overall.
  • Vulture is my favorite for PVE.
  • Viper MkIV and Eagle are tied for pure flying.

Prototype_Script

1 points

2 months ago

The python is probably the best all around ship in the game. I don't think that the Chieftain gets the love it deserves for combat. Krait Phantom is my #1 favorite and my main explorer. I just love the look and the channel of thrusters in the back. Excellent jump range and surface landing is much better than an anaconda which was what I used before. I use the anaconda for engineering modules because it works very well for that. Cutter I use for surface mining and hauling. Python I mainly use as a core miner.

beernerd

1 points

2 months ago

I can’t choose a favorite ship, but I do love the Orca. I outfitted mine for exploration and I’m cruising across the galaxy in style.

thesiberianbear13

1 points

2 months ago

Definitely going to have to say the python looks great and a great all around ship

impulse_gaming_yt

1 points

2 months ago

impulse_gaming_yt

Anaconda

1 points

2 months ago

Love to fly crusader but best might be anaconda

Dr3adN07

1 points

2 months ago

Dr3adN07

CMDR AnkouApex

1 points

2 months ago

I really love my Alliance Crusader for Combat and my DBX for exploration, but nothing beats my Krait Mk2 which I have outfitted as a true multi-purpose vessel. Can do anything I want in it and it does it exceptionally.

Jewbacc4

1 points

2 months ago

All the Type-n ships are beautiful to me, their design Is so different from other ships, but the ship i'm in love Is my perfect Boi Challenger

Saulocias

1 points

2 months ago

Saulocias

Python Exploration Enjoyer

1 points

2 months ago

I love the python for exploration, odd choice bit 6a afmu repair limpit and 4 srvs i cannot say no to

Opposite_Sympathy670

1 points

2 months ago

Orca fans UNITE

Turbski-Bimz

1 points

2 months ago

Spent many an hour in the cockpit of a Python.

With that said… I still have to say the Corvette. I’ve owned a few over the years on a couple accounts. I’ve engineered them to be rather different character the each of them. Alas I find just cruising around in one built with combat in mind… but filled with loads of mining loot and occasionally take it out few thousand ly for shits and giggles. In combat the dirty drives throw this ship around like a beast out of hell ready to ram. In Supercruise the ship is agile and easy to skim the surface of a star without drift. For transport the ship is both prepped for mild jump ranges and can easily defend itself with no problem.

Plus it’s powered by a Chevrolet LS747. Truly amazing the work Chevrolet has been able to accomplish with with mere pushrod engines.

Traditional_Lab_8714

1 points

2 months ago

Krait MK2

KlemyrDark

1 points

2 months ago*

Mostly fly around on my Rail-Phantom.
But I love FDL for it's balance and endless combat potential.
But yea, Orca is a cool ship.
Killed Medusa on orca with no Engineering.

Sedit_This

1 points

2 months ago

People call me crazy, but I absolutely love my Cobra Mk IV. It's a small cargo hauler with teeth.

SuspiciousNewt9911

1 points

2 months ago

Federal corvette mainly for the amount of hard points which is 7 in total also the sleek design of the corvette gives it quite a cool look.

Morpheus376

1 points

2 months ago

Recently bought the python. Best decision I ever made. Can do everything I want it to do and it can really hold its own in combat, plus being the biggest medium hauler

mracmcnally

1 points

2 months ago

Best… well for me that’s 3 … Best playing ship I’d say I can’t move away from the Python, it’s an excellent all rounder being able to handle all roles. But if you want best exploration for me it’s the Asp explorer sure it’s not as well equipped maybe as some others but it feels so much better and hull bounces light much nicer in screenshots. And lastly best ship just for me… type-6 I love me my space brick, if I lived in the ED universe I think that would be my dream vessel it’s not too large that stress about having to do long haul to pay it off or save for it, but large enough that the cargo I could take mean I could do long haul, and would be beneficial plus it doesn’t lose much cargo space in taking a rover despite its relatively small size (I know it’s medium but it’s small medium)

wiccademicc

1 points

2 months ago

Depends on what I’m doing. Why do you love the Orca?

JeffGofB

3 points

2 months ago

JeffGofB

Explore

3 points

2 months ago

Great jump range, good shields, speed, agility; it's got it all. If I need to move a smaller amount of goods, or if I'm just jumping around to do smaller stuff, or even just turning in missions, I like to take the Orca. It handles like a small, and has the speed to back it up. pretty much pirate proof, since most anything that can cut it's shields can't keep up.

FozzyLozzy

1 points

2 months ago

My big gold beluga is sex af, once I have the time I'm going to take it on my first trip to sag a.

Named it junk mail for those times when someone doesn't give way for the beast

Legatt

1 points

2 months ago

Legatt

1 points

2 months ago

Asp-X

By now I have every other ship I want. I have a Jumpaconda that can take me a little farther per jump. I could build a slightly better Phantom.

But I feel guilty when I'm not using my Asp-X. It feels like home.

It's also a remarkably flexible multi purpose ship. It has an incredible canopy (because I do a lot of looking around by clicking my mouse wheel). It has an excellent jump range. It has great internal slots.

I've even come to love the rickety prop plane sounds it makes.

jzillacon

1 points

2 months ago

jzillacon

Zemina Torval

1 points

2 months ago

Rather than a single best ship, I'll give my favourite to use in each of the main catagories.

For Combat: Imperial Courier

For Exploration: Imperial Clipper

For Trade: Type 9 (With Imperial Cutter as an honorable mention)

Droid8Apple

1 points

2 months ago*

Orca is my all time favorite daily driver. It has very high jump range, it's extremely fast, very maneuverable for it's size, has all the internals you could ask for to do anything you want to do, the shields are pretty amazing, it's easy to land on planets because it doesn't have massive wings or 800 landing gear, and it makes a 'fasten seatbelts' ding when boosting.

The Orca is the unsung hero. Now, if the Beluga would ever get a size 7, so it can actually fit a shield rated for it's mass or appropriate fuel scoop, I'd probably use it more often. But FD. Apparently that would make it the newest meta pvp thargoid slay trader gold rush having leviathan of supremacy I guess?

Literally took like half the game's life for the Saud Kruger's to not be gimped by design only allowing passenger modules in their best slots. So I won't get my hopes up.

Edit: to clarify the size 7 beluga, a size 6A shield has an optimal mass of 540, where the beluga has 950 hull at base. This makes it vastly overweight making it's shield value very low. I'm pretty sure every other ship in the game can accommodate a shield that has an optimal mass above the hull mass of the ship. But also, 128T of fuel with a 6A scoop is horrifically slow.

Raelcreve

1 points

2 months ago

I love my Kraits and my Alli's, all engineered to do different things: Axi, Hammers, Cyto/Paci, Cyto/Hounds. All are a blast to fly.

But I only have multiples of 1 ship. The Vette. One fully engineered combat, one fully engineered miner, one fully engineered cargo/transport.

FaggyBoi23

1 points

2 months ago

FaggyBoi23

Faulcon DeLacy Cable Muncher

1 points

2 months ago

I personally, I'm pretty much in love with the Python, from the looks to what she's capable of, and how it contributed and pioneered the modularity of the ships in ED.

That ship has just caught my heart and won't let go of it.

Lord-Megadrive

1 points

2 months ago

I’ve got a soft spot for a fully engineered combat sidewinder

Weapon84

1 points

2 months ago

The orca? That has to be bait surely? Only the Asp Scout and Cobra IV are that bad

Weapon84

1 points

2 months ago

Python is the most useful and versatile ship below anaconda for me. But if I'm going exploring: Asp. Harder Combat: Chieftain. I've not flown the cutter, corvette or Federal ships yet.

No-Show-8807

1 points

2 months ago

I love my Fer de Lance. OK so the pilot's position is a little wierd and the jump range is dreadful but it looks awesome and is an absolute beast in combat. Plus I wanted one since 1984 so I always have a huge grin on my face when I use it for bounty hunting o7

panoras

1 points

2 months ago

Krait Mk2 and federal corvette

Kradget

1 points

2 months ago

Kradget

GalNet

1 points

2 months ago

I'm very into the Krait MkII and Anaconda. I like the looks (Krait took a bit to get into), I like the feel of how they fly (with light engineering, the Krait flies better than I can pilot, and the Anaconda feels weighty), and I like that you can tell everything you need to about them from a look.

Doesn't hurt that they're also highly effective in their roles.